Simple Joy

It really is the little things.

Tomorrow a family trip to the Kildonan Park water park will cost 10 bucks for our whole family. We are going with a friend and his kids, plan to BBQ burger and hot dogs, enjoy coffee made in an enamel pot and drunk out of enamel camping mugs. We will take time to visit the witches’ cottage, fly kites, and enjoy a day made for outside, grilled food and make simple memories that will keep us warm through out the winter that will eventually come.

It will be a simple day in a summer that has been made up of simple days. Good simple days that remind me of the simple summer I enjoyed as a kid. I spent my days on the beach, my meals enjoying something fresh from my grandma’s garden, and didn’t know the touch of central air until I was 11 as open windows often provided the freshest of cool air.

Of course now…I wouldn’t give up the central air.

I’ve spent a lot of time wondering if I am not giving my kids everything that I should be. What I am beginning to realize is that I am starting to give my kids the childhood that had to be put on hold when I was sick and unable to go anywhere and walk, the childhood where I was recovering from surgeries and had to be careful not to push too hard, not to break restrictions, and let’s not forget mommy’s detox off narcotics, the childhood when  flare up just about killed me and they spent days watching me sleep and sweat and attempt to waste away to nothing. That childhood costs nothing and yet means everything.

So time to stop worrying so much right? Well I don’t think that is possible but I am ready to sit back and let them show me the simple joy I used to get out of life when I was a child.

About Shirley Robert

Wife, Mom, Politician, Project Manager, Arthritic, Blue Bomber Season Ticket holder, Mary Kay Rep, and Advocate. I'm a whole lot of different and proud of it! View all posts by Shirley Robert

Leave a Reply

