A State of Normal

I’m a huge Winnipeg Blue Bomber fan. For 20 weeks a year I let out my rabid fan and enjoy the experience that is the Canadian Football League.

Last night I attended the 49-29 win that marked the home season opener and I realized that there in life one can return to their own state of normal and maybe I am on my way to finding it.

I hadn’t been to a season opener in 2 years due to various ailments. I haven’t been able to walk the ramps leading up to the upper deck of Canad Inns Stadium in just over 4 years. The ramps are the only way to get to my seat and I’ve made good use of the golf carts that assist folks with disabilities to access the upper seating areas. Yesterday I felt good when we arrived so I set my sites on a personal goal I had had for last season which was to walk the ramps every game…up and down. So off I set with my dad walking up the ramps and I didn’t just walk…I marched with determination. I was going to do this. It wasn’t easy and my dad commented at one point that I didn’t need to go so fast but I didn’t want to loose my nerve cause if I did I would have been stuck. No way back down and no way up but to keep going forward.

Shortly before kick off as I sat in my seat I realized I had been in this place before. Sitting, watching the clock count down and I noticed that mentally I felt better than I had in months…maybe even years. Physically I was no worse for wear, no joint pain, no muscle pain…I felt good, I felt whole.

As they showed the CFL This is Our League clip I started to tear up and cry because I realized I was in a place that seemed to be unattainable…a place of personal normalcy. I felt like me and I was hit so hard but how deeply I felt it and how I feared that the feeling could be lost forever.

Of course it was o.k. that I was all choked up and teary…it was a sporting event.

Now I turn to a week of busy times. Our van was rearended on Friday so we’ll see what comes from that this week.

About Shirley Robert

Wife, Mom, Politician, Project Manager, Arthritic, Blue Bomber Season Ticket holder, Mary Kay Rep, and Advocate. I'm a whole lot of different and proud of it! View all posts by Shirley Robert

Leave a Reply

