Busy time of year.

I have been bad at blogging but frankly when life gets me running. in circles I find that I must allow something to drop. In April it was the blog but i am determined to get back on the horse and get back to recording my thoughts. I found this to be a good outlet for myself. I’ve been missing the release that comes from just putting my thoughts out there. I don’t expect folks to read and be profoundly changed by my words but often I just need to put it out there.

Mid-May to mid-June is usually our family’s busiest time of year. It tends to start with Mother’s Day and ends with Father’s Day. We have now 4 birthdays in between those dates (in order my dad, Kevin, myself and Nicholas) and this year for good measure we added Tae Kwon Do fundraiser (May 15th), Tae Kwon Do testing (May 19th), Arthritis walk (May 3oth), the Frontenac Parents’ Association BBQ (June 3rd), and Iron Fist Competition (June 12th).  I am also the co-ordinator for the silent auction for the BBQ and I am very happy with how it is coming together. Winnipeg has some of the most generous businesses out there and I am always happy for the support they give. However, after 2 years I am going to step down next year for someone else to invest the time into it. I will need to be focusing on other things at that time provided of course that I am able to get my goals. Ultimately there is something going on every week this month and whle I love that we are busy and active in our community is many ways you sometimes wonder when am I in over my head?

Tae Kwon Do is something that I see my kids are embracing. They have taken up sparring on Saturday mornings and what I see them gaining from it is a sense of confidence. Nathaniel and Ashleigh both have a frustrating habit of giving up when things are hard, they don’t run into challenges…they run away from them. Sparring even if they aren’t winning they still want to get back into the ring and keep trying again and again and to do better and improve. They would like to compete on June 12th and for that they need their own set of sparring gear. Luckily for them we are able to get this for them so they will soon be hauling their own gear to class on Saturday morning. Nathaniel’s focus at school has improved and with his continuing maturity we’ve given him some more responsibility. He is also starting to help around home. He’s taken it upon himself to make sure that the kids’ milk are on the table before breakfast in the morning. He just started doing it on his own and it helps. Sometimes though as a mom I find it hard to step back and see him as being as grown up as he is. He genuinely wants to help and often I worry that he’s loosing the kid part of his life when he does that but I also see him trying to show us that he is growing up that he is ready for some responsibility.

My big item that I want to do well this month, other than Kevin’s birthday, is the Arthritis Walk on May 30th. Kevin, the kids, my dad and myself will be a team, walking the 1K to raise funds for arthritis research. I’d like to raise $200.00 as a team but so far I’ve not raised 50% of the goal and we are about two weeks away from the walk. I don’t think it has helped that I have been raising funds for Jump Rope for Heart, selling tickets for the fundraiser on Saturday, and now I am asking again for more for this walk but this holds a place in my heart given that I have not only lived with the frustration of having arthritis but have already had to deal with the result that comes from extreme damage. I also believe that sometimes fate tells you things. Fate told me that this year I celebrate my left hip’s second birthday walking on it for without it I wouldn’t walk at all, I wouldn’t have my Nicholas, I wouldn’t be able to be the mom that I am now to my kids. Last year I celebrated my left hip’s first birthday by walking trying to go into labour.

If you would like to donate to our team’s cause please visit http://arthritis.akaraisin.com/pledge/Team/Home.aspx?seid=2997&mid=10&Lang=en-CA&tid=24478

About Shirley Robert

Wife, Mom, Politician, Project Manager, Arthritic, Blue Bomber Season Ticket holder, Mary Kay Rep, and Advocate. I'm a whole lot of different and proud of it! View all posts by Shirley Robert

Leave a Reply

