Circles

Harry Chapin wrote:

It seems like I’ve been here before;
I can’t remember when;
But I have this funny feeling;
That we’ll all be together again.
No straight lines make up my life;
And all my roads have bends;
There’s no clear-cut beginnings;
And so far no dead-ends.

I am finding myself thinking about how life goes around. I started at George McDowell school when I was 10. I had a few friends there and as life moves on as it did we drifted apart. Other schools were built and a few folks went to those new schools. When the time for high school came I was one of 5 from my Grade 9 class that went to a different high school from my classmates and as time goes by things fall by the way side and your BFFs often become those folks you went to school with and had good time with but not ones that you are talking to when you move into marriage and kids. Most folks stay BFFs with ones from high school and not so much grade school. I have no one that I talk to that I went to high school with. Graduating class of like 300 students and I don’t talk to any of them. Hell I wouldn’t know half of them if I fell on them.

Then comes the social tool that is Facebook. I don’t go by my maiden name on Facebook mostly because of the fact that I don’t feel like having people I went to high school with that I either didn’t know or didn’t like me. Yes, you bullied me please be my friend, look at pictures of my kids, and act like we were so close and of all the good times that never happened.  However, fate throws you a bone once in a while. The first half of 2008 was one of the darkest times in my life and I check my email one day to see that someone I was very close to managed to find me on Facebook. It was interesting to reconnect and share where I was in my life and hear about her life. I was really excited to figure out that maybe there is a why to things…a way about them. Through her and I friending on Facebook I have found others I was close to when I was young and we’ve connected as women, as mothers, and with one of them as arthritis patients.

Thus the reflection on circles. I have had new people come and enter my life and they give support and care but as life swings around into the sunrise and sundown of the day I am warmed by the women that have come back into my life. They are a touchstone of support that I have been needing. I have many dear cyber friends but once in a while it is nice to say Hey let’s have coffee, let’s have lunch, let’s have a playdate and be able to do it. I feel connected again in a way that makes me feel good inside.

About Shirley Robert

Wife, Mom, Politician, Project Manager, Arthritic, Blue Bomber Season Ticket holder, Mary Kay Rep, and Advocate. I'm a whole lot of different and proud of it! View all posts by Shirley Robert

Leave a Reply

