Trickle down planning

I am often planning out the events of my kids lives and this always happens when I look at one milestone for one child. When I was due with Ashleigh in October 2005 I made sure to get Nathaniel his chosen Spiderman costume in September because I could be in the hospital having a baby and I wouldn’t want him to miss out on Trick or Treating or be unable to have the costume he desired because I am a poor planner. Of course I can’t always control life but for some reason I am rabid about making sure my kids don’t loose out on those things that I see as important to them…birthday parties, Halloween costumes, seeing Santa Claus etc. Of course these things might only matter to me. I am never really sure.

Now Nathaniel’s birthday is next month the big 7. I booked his party yesterday and after I realized that with one phone call I had handled all the details minus the cake that Kevin wants to try his hand at. Of course now I am thinking of Nicholas’ first birthday in June and even what shall we do for Ashleigh’s big 5 in October. Ashleigh is starting school in September I don’t know if she will have some bestest friends she will want to invite to a party but damn if I am not going to plan the hell out of it right this second in February.

Don’t even get me started on Halloween costumes. I have already given those a lot of thought but I tell myself that it is because I worry about something that will fit over long underwear or jackets. Halloween in Winnipeg can be either really nice or colder than a deep freeze in an ice cream parlor. Nevermind that last minute choice kids…mommy planned this out in February.

Now go ahead and ask me if I planned the lunches for Nathaniel and myself tomorrow or any of the other minor details that make up a day. Of course not. That would just make my life so much easier and why the hell would I want to do that.

Yeah see those little things that could make my day easier everyday doesn’t get trickled down. It gets thrown together at the last minute. So then I find myself asking why do I plan so much for a handful of days in the year but tend to put so little thought into the day to day things.

About Shirley Robert

Wife, Mom, Politician, Project Manager, Arthritic, Blue Bomber Season Ticket holder, Mary Kay Rep, and Advocate. I'm a whole lot of different and proud of it! View all posts by Shirley Robert

Leave a Reply

