So why bionic mom?

I’m looking at being 35 this year. I’m still trying to adjust to the fact that both of my hips had to be replaced before I was 33 years old so if you are doing the math that would be two years ago. So in the spring of 2008 I was the proud recipient of two brand spanking new ceramic hips. It made me think of one of my childhood favourites Jaime Sommers…otherwise known as The Bionic Woman. She had new legs too and she also had to have her legs fixed as a result of The Fates deciding her life path. I’m the result of a genetic whammy and I agree not as exciting at a near fatal skydiving accident.

I’m a mom of 3 kids. I have my oldest son who will be 7 next month. He’s an amazing kid so smart that he frightens me and yet so needy of acceptence. He’s the most like me that I can tell and his faults are often the faults in myself that I can’t stand but his strengths are the ones that would make any mother proud. My daughter is 4 years old and spunky. She is a definate student of how people react to things and often how her behaviour can stir the pot along. She’s most like her dad and in her I see alot of his strengths that make him the amazing man he is. Then there is my youngest son who just turned 8 months old. He was the blessed surprise who made our family whole and saved me from letting some of the best of myself die. I’m not sure who is most like but he’s the most laid back happy baby I have ever seen with a genuine smile that melts my heart when I see it.

Which brings me to my husband. Kevin and I have been together for 15 years and married for almost 8 of them. He’s my rock and I don’t think that I would make it without in my life. He is the one that keeps me strong, keeps me going, and often is the one that I depend on to help me steer my course in life. Even when I cry at the curve balls life throws at me he is there pointing out the positive and riding out the storms of life together. He gets me.

So here I am. Tired of feeling alone, like a freak and learning to live this strange new life. Sorta like Jaime Sommers in the pilot. Now that I have established characters and some backstories we have nowhere to go but forward and sometimes back…but then again one must have those one or two episodes of flashbacks to round a story out.

About Shirley Robert

Wife, Mom, Politician, Project Manager, Arthritic, Blue Bomber Season Ticket holder, Mary Kay Rep, and Advocate. I'm a whole lot of different and proud of it! View all posts by Shirley Robert

Leave a Reply

